It is especially difficult to keep daily successes in mind when there are classes to attend, homework assigned, bosses asking for more work, and social lives to keep up with. Still, even with everything that goes on in our day-to-day lives, we do still have successes each day. The idea behind “success journaling” is to thoughtfully list your successful endeavors after each day is over.

david notebook

I confess to being a pretty hardcore “journaling” person. On any given day, I have at least two different journals that I am using to record things. It’s how I stay sane! Well, one of the ways I stay sane…☺ Above is my success journal; I picked it particularly because it is bright and colorful. Before I go to bed at night I write down the things that I did that day that were successful to me.

For example, yesterday’s entry read:

-Contributed to strategic planning for citizen preparedness presentations

-Ran for 2.5 miles with Mike

-Vacuumed

Now, if I had not taken the time to pay attention to my successes, I might not have paid attention to these things at all. Again, we sometimes get so busy that we forget some of the good things we are doing even if they are as minor as finally vacuuming our apartment so that when our friends come over it looks presentable. I have also found by doing this that even on days that I do not think I was very successful at all, or was just having a bad day, there is always something successful that happened. On those days this process is more important than ever, because we all have bad days and need to realize that we still did something productive on the not-so-good days.

Not super into journaling like I am? No problem! You can do “success journaling” without journaling. The whole point of this process is to think about your successes; you don’t necessarily have to write them down. Another option is to just write your successes down on a Post-It-Note or even a napkin. It is also fine to just think about your successes before you go to sleep every night or when you have time to relax. Either way, it is a great opportunity for you to identify what your daily successes are and to continue being successful in the future based upon what you are doing in the present.

For more tips on success journaling or if you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me!

David Dodge
daviddodge2013@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

