I’m easily the most indecisive person I know. You can ask anyone that knows me. I hate making decisions. I’m definitely that cliché person that says, “Oh, I don’t care. Whatever’s good with you is good with me,” or “You choose! It doesn’t matter to me.” If you aren’t that person, I’m sure you know who that person in your life is, and I know, we are annoying. In most cases, like when it comes to picking what I want for dinner, my indecisiveness doesn’t really pose too big a problem. But lately, it has become a bit of a plague.

As college students, we are all reaching a point in our lives where there’s a new decision to be made at every turn. We are constantly bombarded with questions like, “What do you plan on doing when you graduate?” and the ever-dreaded interview question, “Where do you see yourself in 5 or 10 years?” I mean, come on, I’m not even sure what I’m doing this weekend, how could I possibly know what I’ll be doing in a decade? But despite that being the case, I’ve quickly realized that I can’t keep putting these decisions off. They all need to be made at some point.

IMAGE CREDIT: CoverSpy

One of my current favorite authors is Malcolm Gladwell. I had to read his The Tipping Point for one of my classes this past year, and I couldn’t put it down. So I took to the internet to find some more of his work. If you haven’t read anything of his, I highly suggest Outliers, and Blink as well. Blink is a book about how we think, and make decisions, without really thinking. And how there are some of us that are able to make decisions without batting an eyelash, and others, like me, that hesitate. In Blink there was a quote that seriously stuck out to me, “Truly successful decision-making relies on a balance between deliberate and instinctive thinking.” There is nothing really profound about the quote; we’ve all heard the saying “Go with your gut.” But for whatever reason, that’s when it clicked for me. All I really have to do to make a decision is consider the options, think them over, and make the decision. It really can be that simple.

I’m not really sure how I developed my aversion to decision making. I suppose out of fear of making the wrong one. But when I took Malcolm Gladwell’s words to heart and started thinking about my options in the simplest of terms, making decisions became so much easier.

We all have to make decisions in our lives, and some of the ones that are coming up for us, as college students, are the biggest we will make for a long time. You’re going to have to decide which of those two job offers you’re going to take, and you’ll have to decide whether or not you really want to go to law school. These decisions may seem impossible, but to paraphrase Gladwell, if you can strike a balance between consciously thinking about the decision while also doing what feels natural, I’m sure you’ll make the right choice. So whatever the decision ahead of you is, just go ahead, and make it!

Leave a Reply

